Skip navigation

This information is being maintained for archive/historical purposes only.
It will not be updated.



Constitutional Commission

Section 118

What and Why:

The Constitutional Commission has a number of vital functions including facilitating government’s transition to the new constitution. It is also charged with encouraging public engagement with the process.


Objectives include: advising Government on questions concerning constitutional status and development, providing technical assistance to the Government during constitutional related operations, as well as publishing reports (including public feedback/input), discussion papers, information papers, and other documents on constitutional matters. Lastly, it is responsible for developing and facilitating public education surrounding the Constitution.


The Constitutional Commission consists of a Chairman and between two to four other members with a requirement that at least one member is an experienced lawyer. 
The current members of the Constitutional Commission are:–

  • Pastor Al Ebanks (Chairman)
  • Mrs. Julene Banks
  • Mr. Wil Pineau

Last Updated: 2010-08-17