Skip navigation

This information is being maintained for archive/historical purposes only.
It will not be updated.




Section 44 – 47

Revocation of Appointment

The Governor may revoke the appointment of the Premier should the Legislative Assembly pass a motion of no-confidence in the Government by a majority of two-thirds or more. Before the revocation can take place the Governor must consult the Premier. The Governor also has the discretionary power to dissolve the Assembly rather than revoking the appointment.

Deputy Governor

The Deputy Governor, previously known as the Chief Secretary, has remained in Cabinet (and the Legislature) as a non-voting member. This post-holder serves as head of the Civil Service by virtue of the Constitution. He or she also acts for the Governor, on occasions, when that post-holder is absent from the Islands, or in any other capacity that the Governor decides.

Financial Secretary

As an elected Minister now assumes responsibility for Finance, the Financial Secretary is no longer an official member of the Legislative Assembly or Cabinet.  Instead the Financial Secretary is now the Minister of Finance’s principal advisor.

Attorney General

The Attorney General (AG) remains in Cabinet and the LA as a non-voting member. The primary role of the Attorney General is to be the principal legal advisor to the Government and the Legislative Assembly.  Additionally, the Attorney General no longer has constitutional responsibility for criminal prosecutions. 

Cabinet Secretary

Although the Cabinet Secretary is not a member of Cabinet, the post-holder sits in Cabinet meetings. The Constitution now enshrines the post and lays out certain duties, charging the Cabinet Secretary with providing frank and politically neutral advice to the Governor, the Cabinet and the Premier on policy matters. Other responsibilities include providing administrative support for Cabinet, communicating conclusions reached at meetings to relevant persons or authorities, as well as coordinating the development of agreed-upon policy across departments and ministerial portfolios.

The office of the Cabinet Secretary is a public office.  The Cabinet Secretary is appointed by the Governor after consultation with the Premier.

Last Updated: 2010-08-16